Time to get my blog on!

89f3e175e1430af0da9452b8c3f670d1

I have officially been blogging for 346 days!  I have really enjoyed being able to share our journey to bringing our boy home and have loved the responses, the encouraging messages, the random introductions which have lead to friendships (yes, online counts!) and the immense love that has been shown for our baby boy.  You guys have been incredible!

The past few weeks have held many exciting developments and I am fired up for the year ahead.  Many of you will have seen (and hopefully followed on Twitter) that I attended the National Coalition of Adoption South Africa’s (NACSA) Adoption conference in early November.  This was an incredible time of learning for me and I got the chance to network with some amazing people with a contagious passion for adoption.  The week left me both speechless and unable to keep my mouth shut about adoption!  I was honoured to also have been elected to the executive committee of 2015 for NACSA. This is something I do not take lightly – it is an opportunity to make a difference in adoption in South Africa.  I can’t describe how excited I am about this and I will hopefully have many good posts in the future about the work that will be happening.

Aside from this, I have started getting involved in our local newspaper.  I am loving the opportunity to see my words printed out for all to see…and to take away with them.  What a privilege!  I am hoping that I will continue to have the opportunity to express myself through this resource on a more regular basis, not necessarily about adoption, but many other pressing issues or interesting topics.

Another thing that has been dominating my mind lately is this blog.  The original purpose of this blog was to create a resource for parents in South Africa who were going through the adoption process.  Now that our little man is home, there is potential for so much more.  You all know that I love to share my heart on the more serious matters and the intensity of the adoption process seems to have set the tone for this blog.  I still have a serious adoption blog that I want to put together, however the research for it has become an enormous task that will take a while to sort through.  In the meantime, I would love to see it become a lot more light-hearted and a place to share life with you, not just adoption.  I have also developed a deep love of blogs and blogging and am wanting to branch out more and get involved in many different areas.

Therefore, I will be giving our blog a makeover during the next couple of weeks and will be starting to post new types of posts.  The focus of this blog will be life, family and mommy-hood as I experience it.  I hope that you will continue to follow what we are up to and I encourage you to share your opinions and ideas freely.  If there is anything you would love to read about – let me know!  🙂

This does not mean that there won’t be any serious posts, because that wouldn’t be a true reflection of a journey, but rather that this will be a place where we can celebrate our worlds with each other.

Leave a Reply

